Point Lobos, CA

A few weeks ago, Jim and I took a couple of days off from work to extend our weekend. My cousin’s wedding reception was that Saturday night in the Bay Area, so we had a couple extra days to venture south of the reception site to Monterey and see some things we hadn’t seen together, yet.

20150409_171720_1

Our first stop was Point Lobos Nature Preserve, just south of Carmel. I’d been before with my family, but hadn’t been in almost a decade! There’s a beautiful, tiny peninsula with one of the oldest Cypress tree groves on it. On one side of the peninsula is an old whaler’s cabin and a view of the Pacific that will usually include a blue whale surfacing. On the other side of the peninsula, there is an otter, HUNDREDS of sea lions, seabirds, tidepools and beautiful beaches.  20150409_183300_1

Hard to see, but there’s an otter in the water! He was diving for food and breaking open his shells on his tummy with a rock. I was climbing on rocks and looking at tidepools. He followed me up the shore, I’m assuming to keep a close eye on me. 20150409_182605_1

Jim also kept a close eye on me from a distance. Maybe he is also an otter.

20150409_183250-01

 

He had to make sure I didn’t break anything getting down to those tidepools and finding crab friends and anemone friends and a starfish friend… I made A LOT of friends. I always make friends, but especially with animals. They can tell I’m a sucker who might give them some food (I did not give any of these wild animals food). It was a great time and I look forward to going back someday!

Leave a Reply

