What I’ve Been Reading

So far in 2015 I’ve finished reading two books (“Yes, Please” by Amy Poehler, “California” by Edan Lepucki) and started a third (“Station Eleven” by Emily St. John Mandel). I’m mildly impressed with this accomplishment, if I do say so myself. Based on my life right now, I am super proud of myself for making the time to read as much as I have. Now, if you told the me from fifteen, ten, even 5 years ago how many books I read so far in January and I answered “I finished one I had started in December, made it through one, and started another, but haven’t finished it, yet” I would seriously wonder what was wrong with me. Just ONE whole book in a MONTH? What happened to me? Am I in a coma? Why is my book consumption reduced to only one whole book in a month? OH, GOD, HAVE THE LIBRARIES CLOSED?!?!?

I’ll tell you what’s happened to me: I live with a boy and a dog.

It’s true! As few as 5 years ago, I was winding down for bed by reading a book, staying up late to finish a book, and spending Saturday afternoons reading. Now, I wind down for bed with husband and/or doggie snuggles, I don’t want to stay up late because that dog is getting up at 7am no matter what and Saturday afternoons are for the dog park. Let me state the obvious right now: I don’t know how people with babies/children do it. I bet they have NO time to read. That’s not true. I bet they read all the time, just not necessarily the books they want to read. And I bet they read the same books over and over. I bet people with babies have “Goodnight Moon” memorized.

I do not have “Goodnight Moon” memorized, but I did pull a few of my favorite quotes from the books I’ve read recently.

From Amy Poehler’s “Yes, Please”

  • “Rashida [Jones] share’s my obsession with miniature fake food.” (I also have an obssion with miniature fake food.)
  • “Calling people sweetheart makes most people enraged.” (Amen.)
  • “Finally, thank you, Dolly Parton. Just because.” (Dolly Parton is my hero.)

From Edan Lepucki’s “California”

  • “Time moved forward, but the mind was restless and stubborn, and it skipped to wherever it pleased, often to the past: backward, always backward.”
  •  “Cal filled his cup and drank it in one gulp, his Adam’s apple sliding up and down his neck. That Adam’s apple. He had once explained to Frida how Plato believed that the soul’s parts – it’s reason, its passion – were located all over the human body. Frida liked to imagine Cal’s soul, a sliver of it, residing in his slender neck, the jagged cliff that signified he was a man. He could never pull off drag with an Adam’s apple like that.”

I enjoyed both of these books very much. “Yes, Please” is a book, as Amy Poehler says “from the middle.” It’s the writing of a woman in the middle of her life, still very much figuring things out, but also sharing what she has lived through and done so far. “California” is extremely different in that it is fiction, first of all. Also, it’s set in the not-so distant dystopian future and has the secrets and mysteries of the TV show “Lost,” but with actual payoffs. It has great characters and kept me riveted. I read it entirely in one somewhat lengthy sitting.

I recommend both books and hope your reading journey is an enjoyable and easy one. (Don’t hold yourself to my ridiculous book consumption expectations. I shouldn’t be holding myself to them!)

One thought on “What I’ve Been Reading

Leave a Reply

